top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMorgan Barnett

Cheeseburger Pie

Updated: Feb 8, 2022


If you clicked onto my blog because you were wondering if this is a joke or some sort of play on words, the answer is no. This recipe is one of my family's FAVORITE meals I make. I probably make it about once a week. Taylor could eat a whole pan by himself. My mom used to make this when my brother and I were little and we lived in South Dakota. I mentioned making it for Taylor one night and he was intrigued but also hesitant. I remembered some details about my moms recipe but I just kind of went for it and it was a MAJOR success. There is some great substations and ideas on how to change up this recipe at the end!


Ingredients needed:

  • 2 refrigerated ready to use pie crusts

  • 1 pound lean ground beef

  • 1 package (2.5 oz) bacon pieces

  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

  • 1/2 cup sweet relish

  • 1 small onion

  • your favorite hamburger seasoning (like Lowry's!)

  • ketchup

  • mustard

Directions:

  • Brown 1 pound of lean ground beef. Season with your favorite seasoning you'd normally put on hamburgers! We like to use classic Lowry's or Desert Dust from the Butcher BBQ stand in Wellston, OK! (Linked here: https://amzn.to/3rdYQ7U) Once cooked, set aside in a medium size bowl.

  • Finely chop onion and add to the bowl.

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

  • In a pie pan, roll out 1 of the pie crusts. Once in the pan, poke with a fork all around the crust. Place in oven (while it's preheating) for 5-8 minutes. (You want it to get warm and cook a little before we put the other ingredients in.)


  • While the pie crust is heating in the oven, get your bowl of ground beef and onion and add bacon, cheese, and relish. Stir until combined. (It will start to smell like hamburger in your kitchen now!)


  • After your crust has warmed for a bit, take out of the oven and generously drizzle mustard in the bottom of the crust. Do the same with your ketchup.


  • Add beef mixture to the pie crust.


  • Generously drizzle with ketchup and mustard again on top of the mixture.


  • Place second pie crust on top of the pie pan. Poke a few holes on top and use a fork to press the two pie crusts together on the edges of the pan.

  • Bake in 400 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.


  • Let rest for 5-10 minutes after taking out of the oven.


  • Cut and serve!

If you're feeling extra fancy or just like the extra toppings on your burgers, grab some shredded lettuce and tomatoes and throw those on top after you cook the pie! It would be a cute garnish if you're making this for a casual dinner or a fresh add on for your family!


Some other great way to change up this recipe:

Ground beef -> Ground turkey, ground pork, or impossible meat

Regular ketchup -> Spicy ketchup

Regular mustard -> Dijon mustard

Sweet relish -> Dill relish


We're down to one car in the Barnett house right now, (more on that later,) so this week, I didn't have a way to get to the grocery store unless I went after Taylor got off work. (So I'd be taking a tired, hungry toddler and a tired, hungry husband to the store - not a good idea.) I thought maybe I could do a pick up order but no times were available for a few days. I saw an ad for a free trial of Walmart+, which includes delivery, so I thought what better time to try this out than right now!? All I need to say is, I think I may start paying the $12.99/month after my trial ends because it was AMAZING to not even have to go pick up my groceries. They just showed up to my doorstep.


If you've never used Walmart Delivery, or even Walmart Pick Up, it really has saved us time and money. Use our referral link to save a little money, try it out, and have your cheeseburger pie ingredients dropped at your doorstep!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page